Anthology: Down In Birdland

1992 – Atlantic

1. Trickle Trickle
2. Gloria
3. Operator
4. Helpless
5. Ray’s Rockhouse
6. Heart’s Desire (Live)
7. Zindy Lou
8. Mystery
9. Baby Come Back To Me (The Morse Code Of Love)
10. Route 66
11. Java Jive
12. Chanson D’Amour
13. Foreign Affair
14. Smile Again
15. Spice Of Life
16. The Speak Up Mambo (Cuentame)
17. Soul Food To Go (Sina)
18. So You Say (Esquinas)
19. Boy From New York City
20. Twilight Zone/Twilight Tone
21. Four Brothers
22. Blee Blop Blues
23. Candy
24. A Gal In Calico
25. Love For Sale
26. On A Little Street In Singapore
27. Tuxedo Junction
28. That Cat Is High
29. Body And Soul
30. Meet Benny Bailey
31. Sing Joy Spring
32. To You
33. Down South Camp Meetin’
34. Until I Met You (Corner Pocket)
35. Why Not! (Manhattan Carnival)
36. Another Night In Tunisia
37. Capim
38. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
39. Birdland



Anthology: Down In Birdland was the first Manhattan Transfer album released on Rhino Records. The 2-CD set comes with a 52-page booklet that gives an informative history of the group along with numerous photographs depicting the various stages in their history. The songs chosen for this special set certainly convey the depth of the group’s talent and variety of their music. This is truly a remarkable collection that includes selections from all their studio album, from 1975’s self-titled debut album to 1987’s Brasil album.

Comments 1

Leave a Reply